About Ammed Cancer Center Oncology Service Cancer News Cancer Center Locations Jobs Contact Ammed Cancer Center EN
Clinic Hotline : 3607 7600
AmMed Cancer Center > Treatment Information by Cancer Type

Treatment Information by Cancer Type

Cancer Information :

 

There are more than 100 different types of cancer diseases. Cancer occurs when, for unknown reasons, cells become abnormal, such that they divide without control or order.

The metamorphosis of cells from being normal to becoming cancerous requires several separate, different gene alterations. Eventually, altered genes and uncontrolled cell growth may produce a tumour that can either be benign (not cancerous) or malignant (cancerous).

Malignant tumours are dangerous because they can invade, damage and destroy nearby tissues and spread to other parts of the body. Cancer cells can also break away from a malignant tumour and enter the bloodstream or the lymphatic system. This is how cancer spreads within the body. A benign tumour will not spread to other parts of the body, but local tissue may be damaged and the growth may need to be removed surgically.

Cancer that spreads to other parts of the body is the same disease and has the same name as the original cancer.

When breast cancer spreads, it is called metastatic breast cancer even though it is found in another part of the body. For example, breast cancer cells that have spread to the bones is called metastatic breast cancer, not bone cancer.

While the occurrance of many types of cancers are beyond control, all cancers caused by cigarette smoking and heavy use of alcohol may be prevented completely. The American Cancer Society estimates that in 2001 about 172,000 cancer deaths in the United States were attributed to tobacco use, and about 19,000 cancer deaths were related to excessive alcohol use, frequently in combination with tobacco use. Colorectal cancer is another type of cancer than may be highly preventable, and one that may be detectable early through screening.

Regular screening examinations by a healthcare professional can result in the detection of cancers of the breast, colon, rectum, cervix, prostate, testis, oral cavity, and skin at earlier stages, when treatment is more likely to be successful.

Screening-accessible cancers account for about half of all new cancer cases. The 5-year relative survival rate for these cancers is about 81%. If all of these cancers were diagnosed at a localised stage through regular cancer screening, this rate would increase to 95%.

關於安美癌科治療中心 癌症服務 最新消息 癌症中心位置 職位空缺 聯絡安美癌科治療中心 EN
診所電話 : 3607 7600
安美癌科治療中心 > 治療癌症資訊

治療癌症資訊

Cancer Information :

 

  • 癌症是一組疾病,迄今為止共發現一百多種癌症疾病。癌症的基本特徵為異常細胞的失控生長和無序分裂,但細胞出現變異的原因到現在仍未完全弄清楚。
     
  • 正常細胞轉變為癌細胞,是一系列基因改變的結果,基因的改變與變異細胞的異常增生導致腫瘤出現。腫瘤可分為惡性腫瘤(即癌症)和良性腫瘤。
     
  • 惡性腫瘤可侵入和破壞周圍的正常組織,或擴散至身體其他部分。良性腫瘤生長緩慢,也不存在轉移性擴散,主要表現為局部的壓迫和阻塞症狀,有時需進行切除手術。
     
  • 惡性腫瘤通常生長迅速,常侵入周圍的正常組織,瘤細胞很容易從瘤體上脫落,通過淋巴管、血管或其他腔道運行到身體其他地方形成新的轉移瘤。這就是腫瘤轉移的機理。
     
  • 原有的腫瘤稱「原發瘤」,新形成的腫瘤為「轉移瘤」。轉移瘤與原發瘤為同樣類型的腫瘤,名稱也一致。
     
  • 舉例說,乳癌細胞轉移至其他部位時,我們稱之為轉移性乳癌。當骨骼成為乳癌轉移的目標時,我們稱之為乳癌骨轉移,而非骨癌。 
     
  • 所有因吸煙和酗酒而引起的癌症其實都可完全預防。據美國癌症學會估計,2001年美國有172,000個癌症死亡病例因吸煙而起,19,000個癌症死亡病例與吸煙和酗酒習慣有關。由醫療人員進行定期篩檢(普查)有助乳癌、結腸癌、直腸癌、子宮頸癌、前列腺癌、睾丸癌、口腔癌、皮膚癌的早期發現,也有助提高這些早期癌症的治癒率。
     
  • 這些可借助篩檢發現的癌症,大約佔癌症新診斷病例的50%。這幾類癌症的5年存活率大約為81%,如能透過定期篩檢進行診斷,存活率更可提高至95%。