About Ammed Cancer Center Oncology Service Cancer News Cancer Center Locations Jobs Contact Ammed Cancer Center EN
Clinic Hotline : 3607 7600
AmMed Cancer Center > Treatment Information by Cancer Type > Lung Cancer

Lung Cancer

Cancer Information :

 

Treatment in Lung Cancer

 Treatment for lung cancer depends on the cancer's specific cell type, how far it has spread, and the patient's performance status. Common treatments include surgery, chemotherapy, and radiation therapy.

If investigations confirm lung cancer, CT scan and often positron emission tomography (PET) are used to determine whether the disease is localised and amenable to surgery or whether it has spread to the point where it cannot be cured surgically.

Blood tests and spirometry (lung function testing) are also necessary to assess whether the patient is well enough to be operated on. If spirometry reveals poor respiratory reserve (often due to chronic obstructive pulmonary disease), surgery may be contraindicated.

Surgery

Surgery itself has an operative death rate of about 4.4%, depending on the patient's lung function and other risk factors. Surgery is usually only an option in non-small cell lung carcinoma limited to one lung, up to stage IIIA. This is assessed with medical imaging (computed tomography, positron emission tomography). A sufficient pre-operative respiratory reserve must be present to allow adequate lung function after the tissue is removed.

Procedures include wedge resection (removal of part of a lobe), segmentectomy (removal of an anatomic division of a particular lobe of the lung), lobectomy (one lobe), bilobectomy (two lobes) or pneumonectomy (whole lung). It depends on the site and size of the tumor to decide which type of surgery is more appropriate.

Chemotherapy

Small cell lung carcinoma is treated primarily with chemotherapy and radiation, as surgery does not improve survival. Primary chemotherapy is also given in metastatic non-small cell lung carcinoma.

The combination regimen depends on the tumor type. Non-small cell lung carcinoma is often treated with cisplatin or carboplatin, in combination with gemcitabine, paclitaxel, docetaxel, etoposide or vinorelbine. In small cell lung carcinoma, cisplatin and etoposide are most commonly used.

Adjuvant chemotherapy for non-small cell lung carcinoma

Adjuvant chemotherapy refers to the use of chemotherapy after surgery to improve the outcome. During surgery, the lymph nodes are sampled to see if there are cancer cells. If such it will be stage II or III disease. Adjuvant chemotherapy may improve survival by up to 15%. The standard treatment is to offer platinum-based chemotherapy including either cisplatin or carboplatin.

Adjuvant chemotherapy for patients with stage IB cancer is controversial as clinical trials have not clearly demonstrated a survival benefit. Trials of preoperative chemotherapy (neoadjuvant chemotherapy) in resectable non-small cell lung carcinoma have been inconclusive.

Radiotherapy

Radiotherapy is often given together with chemotherapy, and may be used with curative intent in patients with non-small cell lung carcinoma who are not fit for surgery. This form of high intensity radiotherapy is called radical radiotherapy. In small cell lung cancer, chemotherapy is given with chest radiation with curative intent.

For both non-small cell lung carcinoma and small cell lung carcinoma patients, smaller doses of radiation to the chest may be used for symptom control (palliative radiotherapy). It is also possible to deliver palliative radiotherapy without confirming the histological diagnosis of lung cancer.

Patients with limited stage small cell lung cancer are usually given prophylactic cranial irradiation (PCI). This is a type of radiotherapy to the brain, used to reduce the risk of metastasis. More recently, PCI has also been shown to be beneficial in those with extensive small cell lung cancer. In patients whose cancer has improved following a course of chemotherapy, PCI has been shown to reduce the cumulative risk of brain metastases within one year from 40.4% to 14.6%.

Recent improvements in targeting and imaging have led to the development of extracranial stereotactic radiation in the treatment of early-stage lung cancer. In this form of radiation therapy, very high doses are delivered in a small number of sessions using stereotactic targeting techniques. Its use is primarily in patients who are not surgical candidates due to medical comorbidities.

Interventional Radiology

Radiofrequency ablation should currently be considered an investigational technique in the treatment of bronchogenic carcinoma. It is done by inserting a small heat probe into the tumor to kill the tumor cells.

Targeted therapy

In recent years, various molecular targeted therapies have been developed for the treatment of advanced lung cancer. Gefitinib (Iressa) is one such drug, which targets the tyrosine kinase domain of the epidermal growth factor receptor (EGF-R) which is expressed in many cases of non-small cell lung carcinoma. Females, Asians, non-smokers and those with bronchioloalveolar carcinoma appear to do better with Gefitinib.

Erlotinib (Tarceva), another tyrosine kinase inhibitor, has been shown to increase survival in lung cancer patients and has recently been approved by the FDA for second-line treatment of advanced non-small cell lung carcinoma. Similar to gefitinib, it appeared to work best in females, Asians, non-smokers and those with bronchioloalveolar carcinoma.

The angiogenesis inhibitor bevacizumab (in combination with paclitaxel and carboplatin) improves the survival of patients with advanced non-small cell lung carcinoma. However this increases the risk of lung bleeding, particularly in patients with squamous cell carcinoma.

關於安美癌科治療中心 癌症服務 最新消息 癌症中心位置 職位空缺 聯絡安美癌科治療中心 EN
診所電話 : 3607 7600
安美癌科治療中心 > 治療癌症資訊 > Lung Cancer 肺癌

Lung Cancer 肺癌

Cancer Information :

 
肺癌治療

肺癌治療取決於癌細胞類型,擴散程度,患者的身體狀況決定醫治方法。一般的治療包括手術、化療治療,和放射治療。

如果證實患上肺癌,電子掃瞄(CT)和正子電腦雙融掃描用來確定癌細胞位置及癌細胞是否轉移到身體其它部份而決定能否採用外科治療。

驗血和呼吸量測(肺功能測試)是評估患者是否適合進行手術。如果呼吸量測顯示低呼吸量(經常由於慢性阻礙肺病),手術也許適宜進行。

手術治療

手術活療的死亡率的大約4.4%,通常跟患者的肺臟功能並且其它風險因素有關。手術治療只可用在單邊肺部,第三期初(IIIA)的非小細胞肺癌。評估是以診斷影像作準則(局部X射線檢法(斷層攝影法) , 正子放射X線體層照相術) 。有充份的術前肺功能可確保在組織被去除之後,保存足夠的肺功能。

手術切除包括切除肺癌細胞和局部淋巴組織,契形切除法是針對腫瘤體積較細而未擴散,將小部份肺葉切除;肺葉切除法,是切除一片肺葉;同肺切除法,是把整邊肺葉切除,肺功能仍然可以保存。選擇採用那個手術方案取決於癌細胞的位置和大小。

化療治療

非小細胞肺癌通常以化學冶療和放射治療為主,因沒有證據顯示手術可以延長生存率。擴散了的非小細胞肺癌亦以化療為主。

混合化療取決於腫瘤類型。非小細胞肺癌通常使用cisplatin 或carboplatin, 與gemcitabine 、paclitaxel 、docetaxel 、etoposide 或vinorelbine混合使用。在小細胞肺癌,cisplatin混合etoposide是最常用的。

非小細胞肺癌輔助化療

輔助化療是配合手術後使用來使治療效果更理想。手術期間,會從淋巴結採取樣本作癌細胞化驗。如果這些樣本包含癌細胞,證實已經是第二期或第三期的病情。輔助化療可增加15%生存率。標準治療方案是採用鉑金類藥物為輔助化療的基礎(如cisplatin或carboplatin)。

現在還沒有證據顯示輔助化療可為第一期肺癌病人可延長生存率。實驗結果也不能証實術前輔助化療對可切除的非小細胞肺癌有效。

放射治療

通常放射治療和化療會一起使用,在非小細胞肺癌的患者不合適進行手術為治癒的方案。這類高劑量的放射治療稱為根治性放射治療。化療和胸口放射治療同時使用可使小細胞肺癌患者治癒機會增加。

 非小細胞肺癌和小細胞肺癌患者,低劑量的放射治療使用控制病徵(舒緩性放射治療)。也可以給予舒緩性放射治療在還沒有作出組織診斷的肺癌患者。

初期的非小細胞肺癌病人常會接受預防性的頭蓋骨放射治療(PCI)。這樣可以保護腦部,減少癌細胞轉移至風險。最近 PCI亦證實對廣泛的小細胞肺癌的患者有幫助。而在對化療有療效的患者中,PCI顯示可使癌細胞在一年內轉移至腦部的風險從40.4%降低到14.6%。

近年放射治療的放射準確性和影像都改善了,引致頭蓋骨外的趨實體放射治療使用於早期肺癌的治療。以這種放射治療的形式,可在很大的劑量在很少的療程完成。這種放射治療主要是用於因其他病因而不能進行手術的患者。

介入放射治療

射頻消融治療是正在研究中, 是用來治療支氣管癌的技術。它是採用一根小的發熱針插入腫瘤把癌細胞殺死。

標靶治療

近年來發明了各種標靶治療的藥物, 為肺癌的治療打開了新一頁。Gefitinib (Iressa) 是其中一種這樣的藥物,瞄準非小細胞肺癌常見的表皮成長因素受體的酪氨酸激酶部份。Gefitinib對女性、亞洲人、非抽煙者和那些細支氣管肺泡癌比較有效。

Erlotinib (Tarceva), 是另外一種抗酪氨酸激酶的藥物,証實可增加肺癌患者的生存率和最近被美國食物和藥物管理局批准成為第二線治療非小細胞肺癌的藥物。與Gefitinib相似,用於女性、亞洲人、非抽煙者和那些細支氣管肺泡癌療效比較有效。

抗血管生成素Bevacizumab與Paclitaxel和Carboplatin混合使用增加非小細胞肺癌患者生存率。然而這藥物會增加肺出血的機會,尤其在鱗狀細胞癌患者。